Who offers this program?

In 2002, the American Physical Society and the American Astronomical Society joined the American Association of Physics Teachers to expand the reach of the Faculty Teaching Institute (formerly known as the New Faculty Workshop). Financial support is provided by the National Science Foundation.

For more information about the program, contact us at info-fti@aps.org. If you need accommodations at an FTI or have questions about your FTI hotel reservation, contact programs@aapt.org. The experienced leadership team brings a broad range of expertise in STEM education and physics education research. 

FTI Leadership Team

Robert Hilborn, PI

American Association of Physics Teachers

College Park, MD

Stephanie Chasteen

Chasteen Educational Consulting

Louisville, CO

Melissa Dancy

University of Colorado, Boulder

Boulder, CO

Glen Davenport

Elegant Insights

New York, NY

Laurie McNeil

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Edward Prather

University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ

Andy Rundquist

Hamline University

St. Paul, MN

Rachel Scherr

University of Washington - Bothell

Seattle, WA

Marilyne Stains

University of Virginia

Charlottesville, VA

Michael Wittman

American Physical Society

Bangor, ME

Kathryne Sparks Woodle

American Physical Society

Longmont, CO

National Advisory Board

  • NAB Chair Laurie McNeil, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • Jesús Pando, Department of Physics and Astrophysics, DePaul University 
  • Adrienne Traxler, Department of Physics, Wright State University 
  • Nadya Mason, Department of Physics, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign 
  • Angela Speak, Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy, UT-San Antonio 
  • Anderson Suda-Meya, Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Xavier University of LA 
  • Cassandra Volpe Horii, Associate Vice Provost for Education and Director, Center for Teaching and Learning, Stanford University
  • Susan Shadle, Vice-Provost for Undergraduate Studies, Boise State University